Weeks Seven, Eight & Nine CSA Challenge – “Quick” Meatless Meals

It has been busy at Villa Capriccio! Harvest season for my own garden, canning, freezing and making jam has usurped time.

I am not complaining, the haul has been awesome.

Check out my giant zucchini – 19” long – 6” radius at largest point and yielding 15 cups of zucchini for 5 batches of zucchini bread this winter!

 mongo cuke 

It was the first season for potatoes in my back yard and super excited about my 12 batches of raspberry-peach jam.

 

 Potatoes      Jam

Unfortunately, all this bounty has shortchanged my CSA experiment. I had to combine the last three weeks to make it all work. Still, it has continued to be a delight. With all the great vegetables and fruits coming my way, I decided to celebrate by going meatless. And since time was at a premium, I chose “quick” recipes. Not to say there isn’t some prep involved, but they are more streamlined than my usual choices.

Over the last three weeks, my CSA packages have included: Cabbage, fresh garlic, collards, corn, new potatoes, shallots, white onion, sweet basil, yellow squash and eggplant.

Week Seven-Eight-Nine Challenge:

Quick meatless meals

 

Food for thought

  • Making Eggplant Parmesan was my first chance ever to whisk, dip, flour, dredge, and fry anything. It is a skill I am long overdue in acquiring. Frying may not be the healthiest, but it is yummy.
  • I need to find a better knife sharpener.

 

RECIPES, LINKS, REVIEWS AND DISCOVERIES

 cabbage burgers

Recipe: Cabbage Carrot and Green Pea Patties

Link: http://recipes.malayali.me/menu/easy-recipes/cabbage-carrot-green-peas-patties

Review: These were tasty, but man, or man, were they tough to get to hang together. There seems to be no binder. Perhaps I got the grind too course or too fine, but it just wouldn’t stick it out through the process. I want to take another crack at it because it would be terrific to have a stockpile of these in the freezer for quick lunches. Maybe I’ll add some black beans whole and some ground to add some southwest and kick it up a bit.

 

 Eggplant

Recipe: Eggplant Parmesan

Link: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/eggplant-parmesan-recipe.html

Review: As previously mentioned, I am not an eggplant fan. My CSA seems determined to change my mind with every variety of eggplant coming through the door. This eggplant parm was awesome! I loved it. The marinara sauce was incredible! I must confess, I did ratchet up the red sauce a bit with about five times the required basil, twice the thyme and double the garlic. YUM! The red sauce recipe is a keeper for a homemade sauce.

 

Summer Nights Eggplant

Recipe: Summer Nights Eggplant

Link: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/summer-nights-eggplants/

Review: This is kind of a twice-baked potato idea. You hollow the eggplant, blend and cook with other ingredients, stuff it back into the eggplant and bake. Think my breadcrumb ratio was off as they seemed to override the taste of the other ingredients, but it was a good meal and folks had seconds.

 

Corn and bean salad

Recipe: Southwestern Black Bean Salad

Link: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/06/southwestern-black-bean-salad.html

Review: Yum from every angle. Great as a side dish. Great as a chunky dip, great a day later and even a week later. Paired with blue corn chips, it was absolutely awesome.

 

Yellow squash

Recipe: Summer Squash Ribbons with Thai Basil and Peanuts

Link: http://food52.com/recipes/5505-summer-squash-ribbons-with-thai-basil-and-peanuts

Review: This was so good, that I have made it three times in the past three weeks. Though it has shown me that my mandolin doesn’t slice thin enough to really do this recipe justice. Even better about this recipe…no cooking involved and a great use of my fresh Thai basil. A real winner.

 

Screen Shot 2014-08-30 at 2.59.25 PM

Recipe: Kickin’ Collard Greens

Link: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/kickin-collard-greens/

Review: I liked this recipe, but I think I would do it differently. A little less liquid to cook down the collards with and I wouldn’t put the bacon in with the greens until the bulk of the liquid cooked off. I like the bacon to have a slight touch of crispness rather than getting all soggy.

 

 potatogalettes

Recipe: Potato Galettes with Sage

Link: http://www.foodrepublic.com/2012/09/01/potato-galettes-sage-recipe

Review: Perfect with a little sour cream! Definitely comfort food rather than everyday fare, but very good.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

