WEEK FOUR CSA CHALLENGE – TIN FOIL TÊTÊ-À-TÊTE

 

Ivy

Welcome, July 4th weekend! Family parties, visits, fireworks, tons of running around and no real time to cook or clean-up. Tin foil to the rescue! It works in ovens, on pans, grills, steaming, frying, to store leftovers. It works everywhere but the microwave.

 

This week’s food-stuffs: Kohlrabi, Fennel, Three Butter Lettuces, Cucumbers, Kale 

Week Four Challenge:

Spend as little time as possible in the kitchen or at my computer and select recipes that involve tin foil.

 

Food for thought

–      I tested two recipes using kohlrabi and I still don’t really know how it tastes. Next time it shows up in my CSA bag, I will need to make something simpler to get a real taste…perhaps bite into it raw.

–      I must admit, two of the butter lettuces never made it to tin foil. I happened on a family dinner with the CSA goodies in tow and broke out two heads to make a gorgeous family salad with avocado, caramelized pecans, blue cheese and pears. So worth it.

 

And now…THE RECIPES AND REVIEWS

kohlrabi fritters

The recipe: Kohlrabi Fritters with Cilantro Mint Chutney

The link: http://localfoods.about.com/od/chipsfriedsomebaked/r/Kohlrabi-Fritters.htm   and http://localfoods.about.com/od/condiments/r/cilantromintchutney.htm

The review: I don’t usually make fried foods at home, but when I read cilantro mint chutney, I decision was made. It was a good call. This chutney was superb! The fritters were very good, but good in the way that freshly fried anything is good. Much like a potato chip is often just a vehicle for salt and dip…the potato isn’t the star, it just adds the crunch. In this dish, the kohlrabi isn’t the featured player. Very yummy, but the search for the real kohlrabi continues. Oh, and the tin foil in this recipe was a godsend. I lined the frying pan with it and clean up was a snap. After the pan had cooled, I folded a corner of the tin foil into a spout and was able to drain the pan without a drip.The pan didn’t even need to be washed!

pan tinfoilpour off tinfoil

 

 

cucumber salad

The recipe: Roasted Cucumber Sandwiches

The link: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Roasted-Cucumber-Sandwiches-366725

The review: Rule Brittania! Brittania rules the lunch! I have lost count of the number of cucumber sandwiches I have seen served in British films and television shows. However, I have never worked up enough curiosity to consider trying one for myself. In my book, cucumbers were good enough for infusing my water, but nothing else. This recipe made me realize what I have been missing. Scrumptious! This recipe goes straight to my “Can’t wait to make again” file. Despite the photo, I ate my cucumber sandwich open face. I didn’t want all the bread covering up the flavor of the filling. Also, rather than the roll the recipe calls for, I used sweet potato bread I had on hand.

cucumbers before roasting

 

 

fennel baked

The recipe: Fennel Gratin

The link: http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/fennel_gratin/print/

The review: I had to get a little creative with this one. I needed to feed five adults and only had one fennel bulb. But I did have extra kohlrabi, so I chopped it as closely as I could in style to the fennel and used it. The result was good and I must say, I liked the way roasting fennel with cheese mellowed its anise taste. Perhaps it was my fault, but the cooking duration to brown the cheese seemed excessive and dried out the dish. If you try it, I would suggest keeping a close eye on the gratin while it cooks to avoid a similar plight.

 

kale on grill

The recipe: Crispy Tuscan Kale on the Grill

The link: http://www.rachaelray.com/recipe.php?recipe_id=4476

The review: Apologies, this dish was scarfed up so fast, I wasn’t able to get a photo of my attempt. This is a photo from Rachel Ray’s website. I cooked it on tin foil on the grill and it was super good. Like the kale chips I have made in the past, but the punch of balsamic vinegar in this recipe and cooking them on the grill made them even more yummy.

 

roasted salad before

The recipe: Roasted Romaine Lettuce

The link: http://simplynutricising.com/nutritionpage/recipes/salads/roasted-romaine-lettuce/

The review: Okay, this wasn’t romaine lettuce. I had to improvise. Either way, this dish was fast, delicious and beautiful to behold. And unlike the grilled lettuce I made for the dinner party, this “salad” retained its heat through serving that brought great nuance to the taste. The dressing is quite good, but a bit sharp. I would suggest using it sparingly until able to judge for yourself. (Photo above: before baking – Photo below: after baking)

roasted salad after

 

 

Leave a Reply

